Cardiff 2019

The Tournament

The 17th edition of the Homeless World Cup took place in Cardiff’s iconic Bute Park, right at the heart of the Welsh capital, from July 27 – August 3, 2019.

More than 500 players representing over 50 countries travelled to Cardiff to attend the week-long festival of football, in what was one of the most inspiring Homeless World Cup tournaments yet.

Led by actor and activist Michael Sheen, the Cardiff 2019 Homeless World Cup welcomed a range of activities in addition to the spectacular football tournament. This included a space for discussions about homelessness and society, and live music every evening.

The Final Standings

HWC Cardiff 2019

A unique feature of the Homeless World Cup tournament is that regardless of ability, all teams compete for the same number of days. The competition breaks into a number of different trophies. Because of these levels of competitions, the games are exciting and meaningful even on the final day of the tournament. On the last day, each team earns their final position – and those standings then influence the rankings that will seed next year’s tournament.

There are a total of eight trophies: six for the men’s competition and two for the women’s. The Homeless World Cup and Women’s Homeless World Cup trophies are the top prizes, respectively.


This year’s Women’s Homeless World Cup went to Mexico, who have now won this trophy seven times in the last eight years. Mexico women took the glory after defeating Peru 6-0.

Mexico and Peru had played a more even match in the qualifying stage, ending in a 5-4 win to Mexico

1 Mexico (w)
2 Peru (w)
3 Romania (w)
4 Chile (w)
5 Hungary (w)
6 Austria (w)
7 India (w)
8 England (w)

CELTIC CUP (Teams 9-16)

Team USA took the 2019 Celtic Cup with a 6-0 smash over Norway, who fought hard against the winners. The Celtic Cup competition presented a lot of nail-biters and even matches, especially Wales v Netherlands, which saw Wales take 3rd place with a 9-7 win.

1 USA (w)
2 Norway (w)
3 Wales (w)
4 Netherlands (w)
5 Belgium (w)
6 Sweden (w)
7 Northern Ireland (w)
8 Street Football United (w)

Men’s Homeless World Cup (Teams 1-8)

The Homeless World Cup is the top prize in the men’s competition. After travelling to the winning team’s home country, the trophy is brought to the next host-city before the competition begins. Following a repeat of last year’s final with a face-off between Chile and Mexico, the trophy once again will be heading to Mexico after a 5-1 win, making it the second sequential win for the team and the fourth overall.

1 Mexico
2 Chile
3 Russia
4 Portugal
5 Egypt
6 Bosnia & Herz
7 South Africa
8 Austria

Cardiff Cup (Teams 9-16)

The men’s second tier competition saw Poland and Lithuania vying for the Cardiff Cup. The goal filled match ended with Poland’s eight goals against Lithuania’s five.

1 Poland
2 Lithuania
3 Costa Rica
4 Bulgaria
5 Brazil
6 France
7 Switzerland
8 Wales

Glyndwr Cup (Teams 17-24)

The final for the third-tier competition Glyndwr Cup, named for the medieval Welsh freedom fighter, brought a close back-and-forth game, with Ireland taking the lead in the first half and Hungary closing the gap in the second. However, Ireland ultimately took home the Glyndwr Cup with six goals against Hungary’s five, their second men’s third-tier win in two years.

1 Ireland
2 Hungary
3 Zimbabwe
4 Indonesia
5 Italy
7 Norway
8 Scotland

Dragon Cup (Teams 25-32)

Germany and India faced each other for the men’s fourth-tier trophy; the Dragon Cup. India started off strong with two goals in the first two minutes, with Germany skilfully catching up, but India ended up taking the trophy with a 5-4 lead.

1 India
2 Germany
3 Ivory Coast
4 Denmark
5 Northern Ireland
6 England
7 Netherlands
8 South Korea

Llewelyn Cup (Teams 33-40)

The fifth-tier trophy, The Llewelyn Cup, went to Croatia, who dominated the first half.  Sweden defiantly held their own in the second by evening the score, but Croatia once again took the lead with a 6-5 win.

1 Croatia
2 Sweden
3 Slovenia
4 Cambodia
5 Czech Republic
6 Hong Kong
7 Australia
8 Belgium

Beddgelert Cup (Teams 41-44)

Named after the Welsh town associated with the tragic legend of Gelert the loyal dog, the men’s sixth-tier final was an exhilerating match that saw Finland with a three goal lead in the first half. Pakistan evened the score at full time, but Finland ultimately won in penalties.

1 Finland
2 Pakistan
3 Israel
4 Greece